Skip navigation

Clouds on the Andaman

 

Breathing in, I am aware of clouds in the sky; Breathing out, I am the clouds.

Breathing in, I am aware of my whole body;  Breathing out, I smile at my body.

Breathing in, I am aware of Thay resting and healing; Breathing out, I am grateful for him.

Breathing in, I know I am alive, Breathing out, I am home.

 

Our teacher Thich Nhat Hanh is leading us in a very special Winter Retreat (the customary three month period of intense practice for monks in their home monastery during the monsoon time).  Since November 1, he has been hospitalized in Bordeaux, so he is resting, staying in one place, attended by good doctors and the monks and nuns of Plum Village, receiving prayers and healing energy from around the world, connecting us all.  He is giving us a great example to follow, since breathing is his main activity.  He reminds us every day to breathe with awareness, to come back to the present moment, to allow our minds and our bodies to be together at that moment.  To be home wherever we are, whatever others are doing or saying.  To be home in our hearts, resting our minds, smiling.  His teachings help us transform our suffering into joy and freedom.

When you think of Thay, please take a moment to stop, take three breaths and smile.

For updated information on his progress, see http://www.plumvillage.org.

 

Leave a Reply

