Skip navigation

Image

 

In the midst of suffering from war, death and personal health challenges, our morning meditation and Qi Gong practice enables us to transform daily.

This morning I awoke at 5:30am from a scary dream, one in which I had reverted to old self-destructive, mindless behavior.  I needed to WRITE, to journal, describe the dream in detail.  Then to practice Qi Gong with my husband, shaking out the remnants of fear and self-disgust, turning our Tai Chi balls over our bellies, practicing new movements we had just learned the night before from our teacher.  My mind cleared.  My arthritic limbs softened.   I took a long, slow time with my practice, adding a full Sunlight exercise in the kitchen where I could view the rising sun.  Then I did walking meditation to our porch to join my husband in meditation and in offering incense for all those who suffered in 9/11 and the families who still suffer the loss of their loved ones.

 What would I do and be without a solid morning practice of journaling, meditation and Qi Gong?  Not as peaceful, not as happy, not as energetic to help others.  So, now, onto a day of helping others by working with friends,  spreading the word about our QG class beginning September 18, our Day of Mindfulness Sept 21, Thich Nhat Hanh’s Peace Walk in Boston and the Women’s Retreat on Self-Compassion October 25 at Claymont Court (flyers attached).  My affirmation for the month is on sangha building.

 Hopefully, the transformation I experienced this morning from scary dream to enthusiatic Qi Gong teacher, the transformation in just a few days of US plans to bomb Syria will bring hope to you in whatever challenges you face today.

 

For more information on the events mentioned, email dayofmindfulness@gmail.com.  Register for Qi Gong at activenet.active.com/takomaparkrecreation while space remains in the class.

2 Comments

  1. You guys are so awesome. Really. Please say hi to Anneliese for me. She is a hoot. Love,Stephen


Leave a Reply

