Skip navigation


Dec. 27, 2010
Monday morning after Christmas! Husband back to work; my hands back to the computer. The “normal” rhythm returns – Monday equals a writing morning, then meeting, then a court appearance to support a friend in trouble. Before that early rising, journaling, Qi Gong and meditation together rather than leisurely coffee near the tree and an open-ended day of rest (yesterday). We had a wonderful holiday with family, full of gifts and a child’s excitement with snow and toys. Literal chestnuts roasting on an open fire and banana bread baking in the oven. Wonderful!

I am more at peace with the rhythms of my life today. Some days contain intense work, others more rest. Some are filled with people, interaction and excitement, others with a great deal of silence and reflection. Some indoors, some outdoors. Some warm, some cold and windy like today. These moments of calm after the intensity of holidays are good. Let me relax into them, appreciate and make use of the calm rather than long for constant stimulation.

There are so many expectations about holidays that extend to how we “should be” feeling. We feel whatever we feel at the moment. Feelings come, feelings go. We watch them in ourselves, curious about their origins or depth, poke at them, tickle them, dive into them sometimes. Feelings of fear, anger, attraction or repulsion can be so strong that we seem encompassed, carried. Emotions can drive us, move us to DO things.

However, one of the great revelations of my life is that I don’t HAVE to act on my feelings, that I have a choice. I must have been taught something about that restraint as a child, but I don’t remember. I might have been taught to suppress feelings, to resist them like demons inside me – a dualistic view of my self, my body, my feelings.

Today I chose to observe the feelings attached to the expectations of holidays and the feelings that come after all the excitement has diminished, let myself feel, learn from emotions and watch them pass. Relax, take it easy, stop struggling.

As for DOing, I turn to my book and WRITE.

2 Comments

  1. Please never stop writing, ever. Your practice, insight, & willingness to share with the world is so powerful and valuable. Yes feelings come and feelings go. But what we do with them, what history they bring up can be overwhelming or with the right support and guidance enlightening. Grateful to share the path with you.

    • Thank you, my love!

      Peace, Joann Malone

      “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” Gandhi


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Patrick Smith, Joann Malone. Joann Malone said: Post Holiday: http://t.co/WtWaxLW I am more at peace with the rhythms of my life today. […]

Leave a Reply

