Skip navigation

Early tomorrow morning our world will experience an event that has not occurred in 372 years – a lunar eclipse that coincides with the Winter Solstice. Most of us will sleep through it. How often do I sleep through amazing opportunities in my life? Or sleepwalk, only vaguely aware of changes in my world, in my heart?

If I tell my body to wake me for this event, will it? (I never use alarms, don’t believe in them). The short days are difficult for me and for many animals. The bears learn to stop urinating all winter and hide in caves. Some frogs become totally frozen to survive the cold. My body and my spirit respond so automatically to changes in light and temperature. But I also protect myself against the long winter nights: I wear long underwear, turn on lots of lights and read more novels. But tonight this incredible reversal begins that will lengthen the days and shorten the nights until the longest day of the year in June.

Amazing that the universe adjusts, changes and takes care of itself without human input. I am part of Life much greater than my small body. I am connected to the moon and can participate in this dance of life….if I am awake.

Photo by djmccrady.

Leave a Reply

