Skip navigation

Photo by Joann

“No coming, no going, no after, no before.
I hold you close to me. I release you to be so free.
Because I am in you and you are in me,
because I am in you and you are in me.”

This song always lightens my heart when I am letting go of something or someone I am enjoying, especially when I part for a time from my husband or granddaughter. We sang it at the beach this morning. Then – holding the sound of the waves in our ears, the feel of sand and salt water on our bodies, the sight of blue sky and gentle white clouds over the ocean in our mind’s eye – we said goodbye to the sea for awhile. I do believe what scientists are now finding, that our bodies hold and remember experiences whether or not our conscious minds remember. If our bodies or hearts have suffered, how critical it is to nourish healing experiences in ourselves. (For more on this, see The Heart’s Code by Paul Pearsall).

Each moment is so important to live as deeply and fully as possible, as if it is the only moment available to us, which it is. Doing this is the way I can now fill my body, mind and heart with positive experiences, each day allowing them to become stronger than any negative experiences my body and spirit have absorbed.

So, I hold my dear one in my arms and breathe with awareness that I will not always hold him. I breathe in the salt air, fill my eyes with the beauty of the ocean and wave goodbye for now. I know that my body and mind will remember this precious moment and carry the sea – its power and calm- into every other moment of my life. We “inter-are” with the sun, the water, the sand, the sky. Without them we could not exist. They are in us and we are in them, part of a vast and beautiful universe.

My heart is light and happy. I am deeply grateful for the privilege of this week on the beach, deeply grateful for my beloved, for my life. We sing a song we have learned from retreats with Thich Nhat Hanh:

“No coming, no going, no after, no before.
I hold you close to me. I release you to be so free.
Because I am in you and you are in me,
because I am in you and you are in me.”

2 Comments

  1. Joann – Beautiful. I felt like I was there at the beach with you. (which by the way, would be a great respite from 110 degree heat in Phoenix today)
    I am so excited because this evening I get to babysit my very first granddaughter, 6 month old Emme. Not a week goes by that she and I don’t hang out together!
    Joann, I have read alot of your blogs and I absolutely can’t wait for your book. I wish it was ready for Christmas so I could give it for gifts.

    • Dear Jeannie, Thank you so much for reading the blog and your anticipation of the book. I can’t wait either! But guess I will go through the process of looking for an agent and publisher for a while before resorting to self-publication. So happy you have a granddaughter too. Mine is the joy of my life! Isn’t it the greatest relationship in the world? So wonderful to be in touch again. Peace! J


Leave a Reply

