Skip navigation

Tomorrow evening I will be reading from my book The Power of Love at the Voices from the Heart Community/Unity Variety Show.  This is a very exciting moment for me and several of the other artists performing new works for the first time in public.  I am particularly grateful to the producer of this event for offering a similar opportunity four years ago.  Although that event never happened, I was inspired to begin writing my book with publication in mind.  The writing process revealed new themes and a deeper understanding of my own experiences.

So, tomorrow, I come to the Community/Unity Variety Show with a completed book, 39 chapters long.  Of course, I will only read short introductions to the first three chapters.  The setting for the reading is my sentencing for three federal felonies for burglary and destruction of property at the Dow Chemical lobbying office in Washington, DC in March, 1969 as part of the DC-9, a “Catholic Left” anti-Vietnam War group.

“I stretch out my stockinged and healed foot toward the Federal courthouse step and quickly pull it back near its partner.  Should I actually climb these steps that could lead me to 35 years in prison or run down Constitution Avenue and flee?”

I hope those of you in the DC metro area will join us.

12 Comments

  1. So happy for you that you have taken the steps to bring your book into life. I am ready to hear your words tomorrow and everyday.

    • Thank you, Pat. You are my greatest fan and supporter. Much love, Joann

    • Thank you, my darling. This blog wouldn’t exist without your love and support, let alone the book.

  2. Can’t wait to read it.
    Are any of your Loretto students included?
    You are an awesome teacher.
    You must have been about 20 when you taught at Loretto.
    ~~blessing

  3. Thank you, “GerriMac” YES, my Loretto students appear in the book. There is a chapter devoted to the “Aftermath” at Nerinx Hall High School where I was teaching religion and English at the time of the action in 1969. I was 23-25 teaching in Kansas City and 26-28 in St. Louis. Loved teaching and am very grateful I had another 20 year career – and more opportunities to teach by my actions.

  4. I am looking forward to reading of your journey of these last 40+ years. Come and do a reading in Austin!

    • Dear JoAnn (cool name!), I’d be delighted to come to Austin to do a reading! Many more books inside me about the last 40 years. The Power of Love ends in 1970. Perhaps the others will be fiction, to protect the innocent. Do you write?

        • JoAnn Mulert
        • Posted July 30, 2010 at 10:52 pm
        • Permalink

        From your reply, I am guessing you might not remember me. If I mention the ‘Beaver 55’ perhaps your memory might be jogged.
        I am looking forward to reading your book.
        And to answer your question, no I don’t write, I paint!
        Some of my work can be seen at joannmulert.com

  5. where can I purchase the book?

    • Dear Gerri Mac, I was told that I needed to build a marketing platform before approaching agents and publishers. So, I’m about to launch into that phase. There will be sneak peaks soon on the blog. I’m as anxious as you are to hold the published book in my hands. Any suggestions? JM

  6. Why not come to KC? I am sure the Loretto class of ’66 would love to her your words and see you again.

    • I’d love to come back to KC, my home town, especially now that I have family living there and Loretto friends. I attended my 40th reunion. Are you planning a class reunion?


Leave a Reply

